Yet another WIP

For some reason, the more I try to plot out and write my sci-fi story, the more I get ideas for a short story set in my original fantasy world.

I have decided not to fight it.  I am always churning in the background with thoughts for the rewrite on my main WIP.  I think that is why Elfling has been pushing forward.  The downside is that now I technically have 3 stories in process.  Even worse, I am starting to get ideas for the next novel, also to be set in my fantasy world.

How many is too many?  How many stories do you have in the works?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Yet another WIP

  1. Good for you! It’s great to have those creative juices flowing. And I see nothing wrong with planning ahead for future novels.
    How many is too many? Many enough so that you start forgetting details in your novels and mixing your characters up. That many 🙂

    Hmmm… not sure how to answer that one. For the first time, I’m not actually writing anything – rather rewriting. So…I have 5 books to edit. Out of which four are almost complete rewrites. So I guess I have 5 stories going. Mind you, four of them are a series and I plan on starting the fifth soon.

  2. I think I just have too many ideas in my head. They all vie for attention, and sometimes a short piece will nag me until I put down my WIP and write it (Final Curtain Call, for example). But I try to surrender to the bug’s direction and let myself stretch my creative writing muscles.

    I figure it’s good to take a break and do something different, especially if the WIP gets stalled or stale. Then again, I have to discipline myself enough to make sure I come back and keep working on WIP until it’s done. Which is what I should be doing now… 🙂

  3. I only have one other idea in the works. Sometimes that one will drift into my head and crowd my main WIP, and I’ll have to order it into the back seat because I’m not ready for more characters yelling at me quite yet.

Leave a Reply

