Ideas

As anyone who writes knows, ideas for stories come from everywhere, and nowhere.  Today is a perfect example.

I was having a “I am so incredibly lazy that I think I will take a nap at 1:00 in the afternoon on a Saturday” sort of day.  I was laying there, dozing, when an entire plot line fell from the sky and landed on my head.  It was absolutely the most insane experience I have ever had.  An entire story was “flash baked” (to steal a phrase from Cory Doctorow’s “Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom”) into my brain.  I jumped from the bed (literally) and grabbed my laptop that was sitting next to it.  Much to my wife’s dismay (she was having the same sort of day I was, minus the sudden inspiration) I plopped the laptop on my pillow and began hammering phrases and snippets into a program called “Text Tree” that I use for my outlining and organizing.

I am sure that all of your spouses / significant other’s have told you how difficult it is to sleep next to a hammering keyboard.  I was reminded once again.  Nonetheless, I have my next story almost completely finished.  In my head.  Now begins the arduous task of translating it from thought to word.

Wish me luck!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Ideas

  1. I love it when that happens! Happened to me 3 times! 2 ideas are already in stories. One is still hovering in my head. Good for you!
    And good luck with it!

  2. Yay Joe! I can’t wait to read it! Will you write draft two of your WIP or begin this new story?

    • Plan is to work on the new story, laying out the outline and story structure. That should get me a good couple weeks away from Mirian and gang.

      Once I have the plot laid out for this, I will do the edits on TPtP. While that works it’s way through the crit system, I can get back to New Story. And so on.

      I have really been wanting to find a new project so that I could occupy myself with something while letting the current WIP to rest a while. I think I finally got something.

  3. Nice. I love when that happens. I remember waking up a few times after midnight or so when something clicked for ART, and I got the same reaction from my hubby 🙂

    Good luck! I’m getting depressed from the winter dreariness and the neverending sickness around here and it’s keeping me from writing as much and as well as I’d like. I might have to try that program that you mentioned.

  4. Oh, I picked you for an award over on Unwritten as well. Check it out.

    • I saw that. I am procrastinating about it. I don’t think I know five people to list. I will definitely be stepping outside the world of authors. Unless I am allowed to give it to people that already have it, but that feels like cheating.

  5. Good luck! I’ve been getting all sorts of good ideas lately too…must be something in the water.

Leave a Reply

